Regional Reps

Our Elected Representatives

Our representatives nationally and in each region are elected to their positions on a traditional ‘first past the post’ vote. Although each holds a 2-year term, elections are held annually, so that there should never be a period when either board or regional committees are without experienced delegates. Board and regional committee members are present at most NZCFI functions and will readily field questions, suggestions and be ready to assist you with your membership.

NZCFI Board
Michael Wright (FNZCFI)

Michael Wright (FNZCFI)

National President

Over 30 years in credit management has seen Michael obtain a Diploma in Credit Management in South Africa, before moving to New Zealand, where several years later, in 2007, he took out the coveted Credit Professional of the Year Award. Michael keenly supports the NZCFI in all its work – and the All Blacks when they play.

Louise Craig

Louise Craig

National Vice President

Louise’s vast experience in insolvency encompasses the trading and sale of business’ and assets, identifying and pursuing legal recoveries, analysis of financial records and investigation of potential recoveries. Louise’s communication skills and positive approach to finding a better way enable her to negotiate and deal successfully with situations as they arise.

Karen Kaa-Evans (FNZCFI)

Karen Kaa-Evans (FNZCFI)

National Director

As the immediate past National Vice President, Karen continues to serve on our board. With over 20 years’ membership of the NZCFI, Karen is passionate about the Institute’s role of providing education in the credit industry. A huge supporter of work done at branch level, Karen’s common sense, openness and grounded approach make her an asset on the national team.

Ragavan Rengachariar (FNZCFI)

Ragavan Rengachariar (FNZCFI)

National Director

Ragavan joins as the newest Director to serve on our board. With over 10 years’ membership of the NZCFI, Ragavan is the current Auckland branch President.

Sue Fletcher

Sue Fletcher

National Director

Sue’s management of liquidations and receiverships see her interacting with directors, creditors and employees of failed companies, whilst also dealing with the assets of each company to maximise return to creditors. Her team have the benefit of her considerable knowledge and we share that good fortune through her contribution to the NZCFI’s national team.

Barbara King

Barbara King

National Director

Barbara has been employed with BDO Christchurch Limited for twelve years and is a senior member of the Corporate Advisory Department specialising in insolvency assignments. She first joined NZCFI around 1998 and believes credit control is one of the most important and integral parts to the successful running of any business. The networking and knowledge gained from the guest presenters at the monthly seminars is very valuable to all professions, not just credit professionals.

Barbara has been on the Canterbury Committee for three years, two of those years serving as President, and feels that with her experience she has something to offer to the National Board.

Auckland Branch Committee

Branch President

Ragavan Rengachariar (FNZCFI)
United Industries Limited
09 274 0408 ext 831
ragavan@unitedindustries.co.nz

Committee

James Cochrane
Stace Hammond
09 307 7909
jamesc@shg.co.nz

Committee

Craig Sanson (FNZCFI)
Pricewaterhouse Coopers
09 355 8541
craig.a.sanson@nz.pwc.com

Committee

Gwyneth Macdonald
Avis Budget Group
09 529 7708
Gwyneth.Macdonald@abgroup.co.nz

Committee

Sirisha Koripa
Hafele
09 274 2075 or 021 0256 8598
Sirisha.Koripa@hafele.co.nz

Committee

Ravi Dwivedi
Pulse Energy Ltd
027 544 8555
dwivediravi@yahoo.co.nz

National President

Michael Wright (FNZCFI)
Oceania Healthcare
09 356 1819
Michael.Wright@oceaniahealthcare.co.nz

Regional Director

Ragavan Rengachariar (FNZCFI)
United Industries Limited
09 274 0408
ragavan@unitedindustries.co.nz

Hamilton Branch Committee

Committee

Simon Williams
NZ Farmers Livestock Limited
07 889 1673
simon.williams@nzfll.co.nz

Committee

Laurie Brenssell (FNZCFI)
Laurie Brenssell Credit Consultant
07 833 9235
laurie@lauriebrenssell.com

National President

Michael Wright (FNZCFI)
Oceania Healthcare
09 356 1819
Michael.Wright@oceaniahealthcare.co.nz

Regional Director

Ragavan Rengachariar (FNZCFI)
United Industries Limited
09 274 0408
ragavan@unitedindustries.co.nz

Hawkes Bay Branch Committee

Committee

Donna Roughan
Pricewaterhouse Coopers
06 833 3721
donna.a.roughan@nz.pwc.com

National Director

Louise Craig
Deloitte
04 470 3756
lcraig@deloitte.co.nz

National Director

Karen Kaa-Evans (FNZCFI)
Higgins Group Holdings Limited
06 357 1025
k.evans@higgins.co.nz

Palmerston North

Branch President

Sonya Jansen (FNZCFI)
Farmers’ Mutual Group
06 351 8868
sonya.jansen@fmg.co.nz

Branch Vice President

David Sheppard
Fitzherbert Rowe Lawyers
06 351 4734
d.sheppard@fitzrowe.co.nz

Committee

Niki Kingdom
Higgins Group Holdings Limited
06 357 1025 ext 6013
N.Kingdom@higgins.co.nz

National Director

Louise Craig
Deloitte
04 470 3756
lcraig@deloitte.co.nz

National Director

Karen Kaa-Evans (FNZCFI)
Higgins Group Holdings Limited
06 357 1025
k.evans@higgins.co.nz

Wellington

Branch President

Peter Duckworth (FNZCFI)
Credit Consultants (NZ) Limited
04 470 5913
PeterD@creditconsultants.co.nz

Committee

Brent Hamlin
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
04 470 2347
Brent.Hamlin@mbie.govt.nz

Committee

Jaesen Sumner
Ford Sumner
04 910 3201
jaesen@fs-lawyers.com

National Director

Louise Craig
Deloitte
04 470 3756
lcraig@deloitte.co.nz

Committee

Marcus McMillan
Pricewaterhouse Coopers
04 462 7283
marcus.j.mcmillan@nz.pwc.com

National Director

Karen Kaa-Evans (FNZCFI)
Higgins Group Holdings Limited
06 357 1025
k.evans@higgins.co.nz

Canterbury

Branch President

Barbara King
BDO Christchurch
03 353 5528
barbara.king@bdo.co.nz

Committee

Robin Crimp
Heartland Bank Limited
027 667 6675
robin.crimp@heartland.co.nz

Committee

Vanessa Anderson
Aorangi Debt Collection
03 343 9988
vanessa@aorangi-debt.com

Committee

Jan White
Smiths City Finance
03 983 3092
jan.white@smithscityfinance.co.nz

Committee

Richard McCulloch
Ministry of Business Innovation & Employment
03 962 2689 ext 2689
richard.mcculloch@med.govt.nz

Committee

Ben Eggers
EY
03 379 1870
richard.mcculloch@med.govt.nz

National Director

Sue Fletcher
EY
03 379 1870
susan.fletcher@nz.ey.com

National Director

Barbara King
BDO Christchurch
03 353 5528
barbara.king@bdo.co.nz

Dunedin

National Director

Sue Fletcher
EY
03 379 1870
susan.fletcher@nz.ey.com

National Director

Barbara King
BDO Christchurch
03 353 5528
barbara.king@bdo.co.nz

Our Rules & By-laws

The NZCFI operates within the parameters of our Rules & By-laws. These provide structure, assign responsibilities and set the limits within which any officer of the Institute must act. Overall, the supreme governing body of the NZCFI is our members, who elect representatives regionally and nationally to manage the activities of the organisation.


Rules of The New Zealand Credit and Finance Institute Incorporated

Annual General Meetings

Annual General Meetings (AGM’s) are conducted in October. Our AGM’s provide a chance for members to be updated on activities undertaken in the preceding year and initiatives planned for the forthcoming year – and to have a say in how the Institute is run. In years when the AGM coincides with a national conference, the AGM will most often be included in the conference agenda. This is done to facilitate the greatest attendance and participation from our members.

2017 Annual Accounts

Graded Membership

A graded membership recognises experience gained in an associated profession, tenure in a credit management position and/or qualifications held. Each with prescribed criteria, the grades beyond Member are Affiliate, Associate (ANZCFI) and Certified Credit Executive (CCE).

A Fellow (FNZCFI) may be awarded by the board as formal recognition for outstanding service to the NZCFI. Alternatively, a Life Member (LNZCFI) may be proposed by the board and such an honour is conferred in an AGM, where the wider membership share in the decision and formal acknowledgment